Main Content Anchor

Council election results released

Published on 22 December 2021

Results have been released by the NSW Electoral Commission for the three Council wards in the City of Ryde.

Four councillors have been elected for each of the three wards as follows:

Central Ward

Bernard Purcell (Labor)

Sarkis Yedelian (Liberal)

Katie O’Reilly (Labor)

Shweta Deshpande (Liberal) 

East Ward 

Penny Pedersen (Labor)

Roy Maggio (Independent)

Jordan Lane (Liberal)

Sophie Lara-Watson (Liberal)

West Ward

Jerome Laxale (Labor)

Trenton Brown (Liberal)

Kangho (Charles) Song (Labor)

Daniel Han (Liberal)


The result of the referendum asked during the election has also been declared.

Voters were asked whether they supported a popularly elected Mayor where the voters of the City of Ryde would elect the Mayor for a four year term and adopt a 13 Councillor model (including the Mayor) from 2024?

The outcome was:

Yes – 76.18%

No – 23.82%

Results from the Council election can be viewed on the NSW Electoral Commission’s website 

Last updated on 22 December 2021