Main Content Anchor

Local students take out inaugural Battle of the Bands

Published on 29 January 2018

Local up and coming band ‘A Big Mistake’ has won the City of Ryde’s inaugural Battle of the Bands competition at Council’s Australia Day Concert last Friday.

A Big Mistake was up against fellow finalists The Vinyl Press and Supahoney, with their popular set winning over the judges. The band received $1000 in cash, a mastering session at Studios 301 and a mentoring session with a music industry executive for taking out the Battle of the Bands competition.

A Big Mistake is made up of Noah Sutton (vocals), Ben Laver (guitar), Lawrence Wilson (bass) and Ed Galoustov (drums) who all met while students at Epping Boys High School. The band only formed just over a year ago, but has already made a big impression having featured on Triple J’s Unearthed network and is gaining in popularity at gigs across Sydney.

The band has been described as indie or alternative rock with strong influences from bands such as The Arctic Monkeys, Foo Fighters and Queens of the Stone Age, and their catchy tunes certainly proved popular in front of the large crowd on Friday with A Big Mistake also taking out the People’s Choice award on the day as well.

In a message on the band’s Facebook page, the band members expressed their delight in taking out the inaugural Battle of the Bands competition.

“Shouts to The Vinyl Press and Supahoney for their awesome sets, to the judges for their time and encouragement and to everyone who voted our way… Was a great night and cheers again to the City of Ryde,” the band said.

The Battle of the Bands competition was established by the City of Ryde to recognise the outstanding young musical talent in the community.

City of Ryde Mayor, Clr Jerome Laxale, who was part of the judging panel, was very pleased with the event.

“I love live music and it was great to host our first ever Battle of the Bands competition right here in Ryde. Judging by the crowd’s response, they loved it too!” the Mayor said.

Clr Laxale was joined on the judging panel by APRA Amcos Ambassador Isabella Manfredi from The Preatures, Mirrah from L-Fresh The Lion, Jacob Oloughlin from 2RRR radio and Clr Penny Pederson.


Last updated on 30 January 2018