Main Content Anchor


The Community

A very important part of the competition is the community input into the selection of shortlisted entries for the competition; therefore the community will participate as a judge of the entries. 

Jury Members

An independent Jury comprised of design, property and public policy professionals has been formed for the Competition by the City of Ryde Council. A total of three (3) highly experienced professionals have been appointed to the Jury from each of the above categories.

The role of the Jury will be to provide an impartial assessment of the submissions. The Jury will not consider any submission if the Entrant is considered to be ineligible or disqualified for reasons consistent with the Competition Conditions. 

The Jury members include: 

Peter Poulet - Jury Chair, NSW Government Architect

Peter Poulet is NSW Government Architect and General Manager of the Government Architect’s Office. He has over 25 years’ experience in Australia and Japan in both private and government architectural offices. Over the course of his career he has held many prominent roles within public policy. He is a member of the Sydney Opera House Trust Conservation Council and the NSW Architects Registration Board. He is responsible for delivering strategic and independent advice to Government on the built environment and provides Government Agencies with design review and advice on specific projects through commissions, boards and committees.

Peter has also served on an extensive number of boards and panels. He is Chair of the Sydney Olympic Park Design Review Panel, the Sydney Opera House Eminent Architects Panel, the Sydney International Convention Exhibition & Entertainment Precinct Design Review Panel and the North West Rail Link Design Review Panel.

He holds a Bachelor of Science (Architecture) and a Bachelor of Architecture from the University of Sydney.

Maria Atkinson, AM

Maria Atkinson is a sustainability strategist and founding director of Maria Atkinson Consultancy. She has held many private and government roles and is an internationally recognised leader in her field. Maria was the Director at the United States Studies Centre at the University of Sydney and is currently a member of the City of Sydney Design Advisory Panel. Prior to this she was the Global Head of Sustainably at Lend Lease and the CEO of Green Building Council of Australia. She has won multiple awards and held numerous advisory roles.

Maria holds a Bachelor of Applied Science from the University of Technology Sydney. 

Shaun Carter, Australian Institute of Architects, NSW Chapter President

Shaun Carter is the founding architect of Carterwilliamson Architects and is currently the NSW Chapter President, Australian Institute of Architects and sits on the Awards, Design Culture, Large Practice Forum and CPD committee. He has extensive experience working in architecture, structural engineering and construction.

He is a Chapter Councillor and Chair of the Architecture Bulletin Editorial Committee and was the Winner of the 2014 Emerging Architect Prize at the NSW Architecture Awards. He has tutored at the University of Technology Sydney, The University of Sydney and the University of NSW.

He holds a Structural Engineering Degree and an Honours degree from the University of Technology.

Last updated on 12 February 2016