

MEDIA RELEASE

Friday 6 October 2017

RESIDENTS INVITED TO JOIN NEW ADVISORY COMMITTEES

Two new Advisory Committees – Arts Advisory Committee and Renewable Energy Advisory Committee – have been established by the City of Ryde taking the total number of Advisory Committees to sixteen. The committees act as think-tanks to assist the Council in a wide range of functions and issues.

Members of the community are invited to apply for positions on relevant Advisory Committees through expressions of interest (closing 31 October). For details, go to www.ryde.nsw.gov.au/council.

The Advisory Committees have no delegated power and act in a purely advisory role.

ADVISORY COMMITTEE COUNCILLOR DELEGATES

Arts Advisory Committee (New)

Councillor Gordon (Chair)

Councillor Pedersen (Deputy Chair)

Councillor Zhou

Audit and Risk Committee (NB No Councillor Chairperson required)

Councillor Lane

Councillor Brown

Councillor Moujalli (alternate)

Bicycle Advisory Committee Councillor

Gordon (Chair)

Councillor Lane (Deputy Chair)

Councillor Kim

Councillor Moujalli

Bushland and Environment Advisory Committee

Councillor Pedersen (Chair)

Councillor Gordon (Deputy Chair)

Councillor Clifton

Councillor Brown

Centenary of Anzac and WWI Committee

Councillor Jerome Laxale (Chair)

Community Harmony Reference Group

Councillor Zhou (Chair)

Councillor Kim (Deputy Chair)

Councillor Yedelian OAM

Councillor Moujalli

Economic Development Advisory Committee

Councillor Clifton (Chair)

Councillor Lane (Deputy Chair)

Councillor Brown

Councillor Moujalli

Councillor Yedelian OAM

Councillor Purcell

Festivals and Events Advisory Committee (replaces the Eastwood and West Ryde Events & Promotions Advisory

Committee and the East Ward Events & Promotions Advisory Committee with one single advisory committee)

Councillor Kim (Chair)

Councillor Zhou (Deputy Chair)

Councillor Brown

Councillor Pedersen

Councillor Clifton

Heritage Advisory Committee

Councillor Gordon (Chair)

Councillor Clifton (Deputy Chair)

Macquarie Park Forum

Councillor Purcell (Chair)

Councillor Zhou (Deputy Chair)

Councillor Lane

Councillor Gordon

Councillor Moujalli

Councillor Clifton

Renewable Energy Advisory Committee (New)

Councillor Pedersen (Chair)

Councillor Clifton (Deputy Chair)

Councillor Gordon

Ryde Hunters Hill Joint Library Services Committee

Councillor Gordon (Chair)

Councillor Lane

Ryde Youth Council (NB No Councillor Chairperson required)

Councillor Lane

Councillor Moujalli

Councillor Pedersen

Councillor Kim

Social Inclusion Advisory Committee (formerly Access Advisory Committee)

Councillor Pedersen (Chair)

Councillor Zhou (Deputy Chair)

Councillor Kim

Sport and Recreation and Wheeled Sports Advisory Committee

Councillor Purcell (Chair)

Councillor Moujalli (Deputy Chair)

Status of Women Advisory Committee

Councillor Pedersen (Chair)

Media Contact: Lee Kirkland City of Ryde Media Officer p●99528083 m●0434306444 e●lkirkland@ryde.nsw.gov.au