Main Content Anchor

Battle of the Bands

applications are now closed

Applications closed on Monday 11 December 2017.

The City of Ryde recognises the outstanding musical talent of our Youth and will be holding a Battle of the Bands competition for 2018. The competition is open to all Youth bands. 

Bands will be shortlisted by a panel of judges, including Guest Judge and APRA AMCOS Ambassador Isabella Manfredi from 'The Preatures', and the top three entries will be invited to perform at the City of Ryde Australia Day concert. The concert will provide bands to do a live performance and showcase their talents to the community. The Panel will finalise a winner on the night and award the winning band. There will also be a People's Choice Prize.


  • $1,000 Cash
  • Mastering Session at Studios 301
  • Mentoring session with a leading Australian music industry executive. 


  • $250 Cash.

The winner will be announced at the City of Ryde Australia Day Concert.

  • Application form must be submitted by 4pm Monday 11 December 2017.
  • The competition is open to Australian bands whose members fit between the ages of 12 and 25 years of age as at the 26 January 2018. 
  • Bands must be available to attend and perform at the City of Ryde Australia Day concert on Friday 26 January 2018. The Concert will begin at 5 pm, with the top three ‘Battle of the Bands’ opening the event.
  • Bands that have signed a contract with a major record company are not eligible to enter the City of Ryde (COR) Battle of the Bands competition.
  • All videos submitted for entry must be of a live performance, to an audience. Videos must have at least 1 original song and videos cannot exceed 10 minutes in duration.  
  • All band members under 16 years of age must have parental or guardian consent to perform at the Australia Day Concert. 

Please read the full list of Terms and Conditions(PDF, 51KB) to ensure your group is eligible. 

Competition Video

Contact Us

 If you have any questions or issues with your application please contact


Last updated on 12 December 2017