Food Safety Supervisor

The Food Act 2003 (NSW) requires certain food businesses in the NSW hospitality and retail food service sector to have at least one trained Food Safety Supervisor (FSS).

To be certified as a FSS for a food premises in NSW and issued a valid certificate, a person must attain required units of competency from an approved Recognised Training Organision (RTO) under the FSS program.

The units of competency must incorporate three key focus areas determined by the Food Authority and published on its website:

  1. Safe egg handling
  2. Allergen management
  3. Cleaning and sanitising practices.

Who does it apply to?

The FSS requirement applies to retail businesses that process and sell food (prepare and serve) that is:

  • Ready-to-eat
  • Potentially hazardous (i.e. needs temperature control)
  • NOT sold and served in the supplier's original package.

Examples of businesses include restaurants, cafés, takeaway shops, caterers, bakeries, pubs, clubs, hotels and supermarket hot food sales.

The Guideline to Food Safety Supervisor Requirements is a simple ‘how to’ guide on complying with FSS legislation.

See Guideline on Food Safety Supervisor Requirements

Further information including the current Food Safety Supervisor units of competency and a list of approved RTOs is available on the NSW Food Authority website.